Could I be a Hipster?

I find myself wondering if I’m a hipster. Typically something at work triggers my questioning of hipster-ism. And then yesterday, Pandora asked me if I wanted to listen to Hipster Holiday Radio. Apparently my music preferences align with hipster according to Pandora’s algorithm. So I decided to see what hipsters are all about before I could self-identify.IMG_3515After reading Wikipedia’s and Urban Dictionary’s definition of a hipster, I realize I fit the description. According to Wikipedia:

The hipster subculture typically consists of white millennials living in urban areas.[1][2] The subculture has been described as a “mutating, trans-Atlantic melting pot of styles, tastes and behavior”[3] and is broadly associated with indie and alternative music, a varied non-mainstream fashion sensibility (including vintage and thrift store-bought clothes), generally progressive political views, organic and artisanal foods, and alternative lifestyles.[4][5][6] Hipsters are typically described as affluent or middle class young Bohemians who reside in gentrifying neighborhoods.[7][8]

But to be a true hipster I can NEVER call myself one. Touche.  Also, I don’t want to suggest that Wikipedia and Urban Dictionary are primary resources. I’m just specifically mentioning them as two of the sources I reviewed.

So the reason I am posting about hipsters is because there is a low-level form of bullying at work that I endure on a weekly basis. It has caused me to feel like I don’t fit, I don’t belong, and that I’m not equal. Am I back in high school? Possibly. Does it feel comforting that I fit into a subculture. Yes. Is it ok to be different? Absolutely. Sometimes I just need to remind myself of my self-worth, values, and weirdo-ness. It’s not me… It’s you.

Leave a Reply

